Welsh Fire Squad 2023 | Welsh Fire Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List For The Hundred

Join Telegram

Table of Contents

Welsh Fire Squad 2023 – The Hundred is a professional franchise 100-ball cricket tournament comprising eight boys’ teams and eight girls’ teams based in major cities in England and Wales. The tournament is organized by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and will take place for the first time in July and August 2021.

The Welsh Fire is a Cardiff City-based 100-ball Cricket team. The team represents the historic boroughs of Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, and Somerset in a newly created competition called The Hundred, which will be held for the first time in the 2021 England and Wales cricket season. Both the men’s and women’s teams play at home at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff.

Founded in June 2019, Welsh Fire is one of eight teams playing in The Hundred’s inaugural season. The team is organized by the Glamorgan, Somerset, and Gloucestershire County Cricket Clubs.

It was reported that the team could be renamed Western Fire to address concerns that Somerset and Gloucestershire were not included in the team, but that did not happen.

In July 2019, the team announced the appointment of former South Africa and India head coach and current Royal Challengers Bangalore head coach Gary Kirsten as the men’s team coach. The women’s team was supposed to be led by former Glamorgan head coach and current Australian women’s coach Matthew Mott, but he withdrew and was replaced by assistant coach Mark O’Leary.

opening First Hundred edition was released in October 2019, and Fire announced Jonny Bairstow as the Men Captain and Katie George as the lead woman team. They were joined by Somerset goalie-batsman Tom Banton, Glamorgan batsman Colin Ingram and England batsman Bryony Smith.

Jonny Bairstow signs for the Central contract, and David Willey and Tom Abell have been selected as flagships for the initial £125,000 transfer. Shaheen Afridi (o) and Joe Clarke are already at £100,000, with Welsh Fires in second place. Glenn Phillips (o) was selected for £75,000 in the third round, and David Payne and Haris Rauf (o) of Pakistan (the team’s third overseas player) were selected for £60,000 in the fourth round.

Roelof van der Merwe and Jake Ball were selected in the fifth round for £50,000 and Gloucestershire duo Stephen Eskinazi and Dan Douthwaite were selected in the sixth round for £40,000. George Scrimshaw is in the squad making it to the final round for £30,000.

The final team will reward players who perform well in next season’s Vitality Blast over 20 tournaments.

Welsh Fire Team Summary

Nickname(s)Welsh Fire
T20 LeagueThe Hundred
CaptainTom Abell
CoachMichael Hussey
Team information
Home groundSophia Gardens
Official websiteWelsh Fire

Welsh Fire Squad 2023

Welsh Fire – Jonny Bairstow, Tom Abell, David Willey, Shaheen Afridi, Joe Clark, Glenn Phillips, Ollie Pope, Haris Rauf, David Payne, Roelof van Dar Merwe, Jake Ball, Stevie Eskinazi, Daniel Douthwaite, George Scrimshaw

Salary bandMen
Central contractJonny Bairstow
£125,000Tom Abell
£125,000David Willey
£100,000Shaheen Afridi (o)
£100,000Joe Clarke
£75,000Glenn Phillips (o)
£75,000Ollie Pope
£60,000Haris Rauf (o)
£60,000David Payne
£50,000Roelof van der Merwe
£50,000Jake Ball
£40,000Stephen Eskinazi
£40,000Dan Douthwaite
£30,000George Scrimshaw

Welsh Fire WOMEN Squad 2023

Welsh Fire WOMEN – Sophia Dunkley, Shabnim Ismail (o), Tammy Beaumont, Hayley Matthews (o), Georgia Elwiss, Freya Davies, Laura Harris (o), Alex Hartley, Claire Nicholas, Sarah Bryce, Alex Griffiths

Salary bandWomen
£31,250Sophia Dunkley
£31,250Shabnim Ismail (o)
£25,000Tammy Beaumont
£25,000Hayley Matthews (o)
£18,750Georgia Elwiss
£18,750Freya Davies
£15,000Laura Harris (o)
£15,000Alex Hartley
£12,500Claire Nicholas
£12,500Sarah Bryce
£7,500Alex Griffiths

Also Read

Leave a Comment